Bavik–Petrus Dubbel Bruin Ale

Here’s another beer I received when I bought a gift pack containing a glass from the brewery.  This was voted as the best Abbey/Trappist Dark Ale in 2011.  Being a dubbel, it’s slightly higher in alcohol content than the brewery’s base beer and the word ‘bruin’ is little more than Dutch for brown.  When you see the picture, you’ll know why.

It pours a rich brown color and like their blonde beer, there are some floaties in it which I assume to be yeast.  The body is hazy enough that you can’t see through it, while up top is a typical dirty, off white head.  The head looks creamy enough, though it lacks retention.  A swirl breathes a short life back into the beer and leaves behind the spottiest of lacing.

IMG_0573

They nailed the scent, as caramel malts fill the nose.  Each sniff reminds you that dark soft drinks like Coke or Pepsi use caramel because this dubbel smells just like a Pepsi.  That said, there is also an earthy, flowery scent that I guess are the hops, though I don’t know which variety it is.  Regardless, the scent is just as it should be.

Honestly, it tastes just like a Pepsi as well.  Seriously, I’m not sure I could tell the difference between this and a soft drink.  I’m not picking up any alcohol or hops or yeast.  Possibly some Belgium candied sugar, maybe some brown sugar.  So yeah, it tastes like a Coke.

It’s very sweet…almost too sweet.  I don’t know how many of these I could drink before I grew tired of the sweetness.  It needs something to help cut through it.  The alcohol and hops aren’t up to the task.  There’s a syrupy feel to it and that sweetness lasts well into the finish.

If sweet beers are your thing, you’ll love this.  It’s a bit too sweet for me.  I wouldn’t consider it a bad beer, it’s just that I couldn’t take much more than one of these in a night.

About ricks95

48-year old married father of one with a new hobby of trying craft beers

Posted on July 21, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

